09/20/18 00:09 AM  

Users - How to Enable, Disable, Delete | RingCentral

« Go Back

Article

 
SummaryThis article provides information on how to enable, disable, or delete a user.
Details

 

Users - How to Enable, Disable, Delete


Possible scenarios when to disable or delete a user/ extension:

• Enable a newly added user.
• Enable a previously disabled user.
• Account Administrator would want to disable a User's access temporarily. 
• Delete a disabled user that will no longer be in use.

Enable Users
Disable Users
Delete Users
What happens after the User is deleted
 

Enable Users

 
You will know that a User is disabled when it shows a Red X User-added image on its Status. To enable a disabled User, click Enable. When the User is enabled, it should show a Green Check User-added image on its status.

User-added image
 

Disable Users


Account Administrators can temporarily disable a User's access, if an employee goes on vacation, for example. You can also permanently delete a User.

NOTE: Disabled Users will not be able to make and receive calls, access their account online or use mobile applications.

 

2. Go to Admin Portal, and then click Users.

3. Click the Disable button on the user you want to disable.

4. A confirmation window will appear, click Yes to proceed.

 

Delete Users


1. You must first Disable the User that you wish to delete.

2. Click the Delete button on the user you want to delete.
 
3. A confirmation window will appear, click Yes to proceed.

 

What happens after the User is deleted


The tables below show what happen to the numbers assigned to the User after the User is deleted.
• Direct Line
• Digital Line (DID)
 

Direct Line

How to tell what kind of line it isThe line shows up under Phones & Numbers > Numbers.

direct line
What happen after the extension is deletedIt will go to Phone System > Phone Numbers > Company, and will be forwarded to the auto-receptionist, until re-assigned.

direct line deleted


Digital Line (DID)

How to tell what kind of line it isThe line shows up under Phones & Numbers > Phones.

digital line
What happen after the extension is deletedDIDs and their associated phones will go to Users > Unassigned Extensions. The calls will get a message that "No one is available to take your call," and hang up.

direct line deleted

See also:

Groups - How to Enable, Disable, Delete | RingCentral
Ranking
Was this information helpful?
Yes
No
Somewhat

Tell us why and what can we do to improve this information