06/27/16 22:12 PM  

Glip: New Mobile and Email Notifications

« Go Back

Article

 
SummaryWhat are the new Glip mobile and email features?
Details
Glip improves collaboration by keeping teams in constant communication but as team members, we all want to have control over just how constant it should be.

In particular, Glip users have been telling us they want better control over the mobile and email notifications they see when they are away from their desk or out of the office. Many were also confused when Glip sends notifications and when it does not. Going forward, the answer will be that you set the rules. For example, you can decide you want to be notified immediately about any new post in a team conversation about a project you're in charge of and never get notifications about projects you are only peripherally involved in.

Although usually we do not like to announce new features before they are available for you to try, Glip's new notification model is different enough (particularly on mobile) that we thought we should give you a heads up. We want to make sure you understand the new default settings and how to change them. All the features we discuss below should be live within the next week (maybe a little longer if something goes wrong during testing).

The ability to manually set your status to Away went live a few weeks ago, followed by an update that let you set a status message (explained in more detail below).

The bigger changes are the options for setting your preferences, either globally or for a specific team. Instead of forcing all or nothing choices, Glip will give you more control. If you prefer to minimize email notifications, you can turn them OFF on on the global preferences screen but turn them ON for a specific team or a specific person (such as your boss) whose messages you can't afford to miss.

Here is the new Preferences screen, showing the notifications defaults.
 

glip_notifications_defaults.png


By default, you will get mobile notifications of People messages, including direct messages and group messages that you are included in. Because these messages are specifically directed at you, you will get an immediate notification for each message. That is a change: previously, Glip would send you just the most recent message at the first 60-second break in the conversation.
 

glip-mobile-notifications.png


For teams, you can choose to get mobile notifications for every message, for just the first message (since the last time you viewed that conversation) or not at all.

Going forward, the default for new users will be that mobile notifications are turned OFF for teams unless they choose to turn them ON. However, existing users who had mobile notifications turned ON will continue to get notifications, but only for the first new team message. We didn't want users who were expecting to get notifications to miss out on them, but we are also conscious of the hazard of being overwhelmed by notifications.

Again, you have the power to change these preferences. If you leave mobile notifications OFF for teams, as a global setting, you still have the option of turning them ON for a specific team.

You will also get mobile notifications whenever someone mentions you in a conversation and whenever you are invited to a Glip Video Chat, unless you turn those notifications OFF. The video chat notification lets you see you have been invited to a meeting, which you can join from your mobile device if you have the RingCentral Meetings mobile app installed.

glip-email-notifications.png

Email notifications for people and teams default to checking for messages and sending you notifications every 15 minutes -- the clock starts after you log out or your status changes to away. You can change that interval to one (1) hour or turn OFF email notifications.

You also get email notifications every time you are mentioned in a conversation and will be emailed a Glip Today summary of pending tasks and upcoming events unless you turn those options OFF.

For the most part, your selections on the Preferences screen can be overridden for specific People and Team conversations.
 

glip-team-notifications.png


One important exception is the handling of Mentions. If on the Preferences screen you specify that you want to receive mobile or email notifications whenever you are mentioned in a conversation, you will get those notifications even if you are mentioned in a conversation where you otherwise have notifications turned OFF.

In other words, if someone is praising you, criticizing you, or trying to get your attention, we figure you probably want to know about that -- even if you do not want to be notified about anything else posted to that conversation. Of course, whether to turn ON mobile or email notifications for mentions at all is still up to you.

Click on the gear icon next to the name of a person or a team to see all the options, including the option to change mobile or email notifications for that conversation.
 

Control Over Away Status

 

glip_away_set_see_400.png


Notifications are not normally sent when you are logged into Glip on the web or a desktop app and actively participating in conversations. However, you have the option of seeing them when you are logged in but have stepped away from your desk.

You can now manually set your status to Away (rather than waiting for Glip to detect a period of inactivity). You can also specify a reason why you may not respond immediately. You can choose from a standard selection of status messages (such as "gone for the day") or set a custom one ("on vacation until July 5").

When you set your status to Away, your online presence indicator immediately changes from green (online) to yellow, and anyone who opens a conversation with you will see the associated status message next to your name at the top of the screen. At the same time, Glip begins sending mobile and email notifications, according to the preferences you have set. Otherwise, your presence indicator turns yellow and notifications are triggered after two minutes of inactivity.

The other way notifications are triggered is when you go offline. In that case, no status light indicator shows next to your name. However, an away message such as "on vacation" still would be displayed to let people see why you're offline.

These new options may take some getting used to, but we hope you will agree make it easier for you to get the notifications you really need, when and where you need them.

Ranking
Was this information helpful?
Yes
No
Somewhat

Tell us why and what can we do to improve this information