RingCentral Meetings has been redesigned to make joining and setting up a video conference easier. The recent update included enhancements that have changed the default display of the RingCentral Meetings Desktop app. The "User dual monitors" option in Settings is enabled by default, resulting in having 2 windows displayed separately on your monitors. You will see a second window displaying your own video or a black screen with your name or a participant's name (depending on your Video setting).
Check RingCentral Meetings: Configuring the Meetings Desktop App Settings
for more information on how you can change the default Video settings.
Multiple screen sharing is a new feature that allows multiple participants to share screens simultaneously. The Host can click the option beside the Share Screen
button, then select Multiple participants can share simultaneously
. If there are 2 individuals sharing screens at the same time, and the other one has "Use dual monitors" enabled, that participant should be able to view 2 monitors at the same time.
The following information shows what is displayed on your screens during an ongoing Meeting when you have "Use dual monitors" option enabled.
|When no one is sharing a screen||Main Screen||Shows the Meeting controls or the active speaker's video|
|Second Screen||Shows the User's own video or a black screen|
with the User's name
|When an individual is sharing a screen||Main Screen||Shows the Meeting controls or the active speaker's video|
|Second Screen||Shows the content being shared|
|When 2 individuals are sharing screens||Main Screen||Shows the content being shared|
|Second Screen||Shows the other content being shared|
Before starting or joining a Meeting, make sure you have the "Use dual monitors" option disabled, as shown in the steps below.
Disabling the Use dual monitor option in Windows
Look under Content Sharing
, then uncheck Use dual monitors
Disabling the Use dual monitor option in Mac
Look under Meeting option, then uncheck Use dual monitors.